Keep social distance rules. Disinfectant spray (for the mats) and handwipes for the jacks are in the Mat Box.

Millicent Bowls Club Fees for Season 2020-21
Full Membership $115.00, First year Membership $55.00, Social Membership $55.00, Non-Bowlers $15.00, Students, $15.00

Night bowls starting date Wednesday 14th October

Lawn Bowls Scudds/Earl Shield
Played 20th September 2020

Our yearly event the Scudds/Earl shield took place at the Millicent Bowling Club on Sunday 20th September with Millicent playing Mt Gambier RSL.  Both clubs were very happy with the participation of the 14 teams from each club.
Play commenced at 1-00pm in overcast skies but typical Millicent weather blue skies and sunny conditions were not long in coming.  All games were fiercely contested for the 25 ends played with no break half way through the game as per a normal pennant match.
After all the score  cards were counted and all games were completed and the  points were tallied up, Mt Gambier RSL Club came out victors by 13 shots once again giving Mt Gambier RSL the overall victory and retaining the shield.
The overall winning rink for Mt Gambier RSL was the team of, D Beaman, W Brown, A Coulson and L Moyle and the winning rink  best over all from Millicent was, D Crase, D Bowering, B Burdon and R Gibbs.  Congratulations to both of these rinks.
Thanks goes out to both club presidents Peter Hyland from Millicent and Graham Crowder from Mt Gambier RSL, for their kind words and support to all players and supporters for the day.  Steve Carnellor, chairman of the pennant selectors committee, also thanked all club members from Millicent for working so hard to put the event on under difficult condition. A lovely afternoon tea was had by all from sealed food purchased, no home cooking was on the tables and safety rules were followed to the letter.    

Millicent Bowls Club President Peter Hyland handing the shield to
MT Gambier RSL President Graham Crowder
W Brown, L moyle, L Beeman, A Coulson
R Gibbs, B Burdon, D Bowering, D Crase

Men’s Handicap Singles ‘The Last Four Standing
On Saturday the 19th of September, 32 players took to the greens to play in the Men’s Handicap Singles which started at 8-30am playing 3 games of 21 end and getting down to the last 4 players who are, Derk Pietersma, Derek Dowering, David Taylor and Glen Jones. The semi finals are now scheduled to be played next Friday. Well done to these four bowlers.

David Taylor
Derk Pietersma
Derik Bowering
Glen Jones

Millicent Bowls Club Season Opening

On Sunday13th September the Millicent Bowls Club had its 2020/21 season opening with Deputy Mayor Moira Nagel officially opening the season.
President Peter Hyland  welcomed Moira to the club and invited her to open the bowls season.Deputy Mayor Moira said in opening the season how impressed she was with the club when driving past the venue it always looked neat and tidy.  She also congratulated the club on being successful in securing an $1800.00 Wattle Range Council Grant for improvements to the venue.
President Peter the asked the Ladies Singles Champion, Lyn Scudds, to roll the Jack and for Men’s Singles Champion, Brian Roper, to put down the first bowl for the 2020/21 season.
After the official business was completed all players then went out to play 2 games of 10 ends.  At the completion of the games a very enjoyable tea was had by all. With social distancing being a important issue for the day and food safety also being very important all food was purchased in sealed containers to avoid contamination.    

Winners Of Men’s Events

Sat 5/9/20Open practiceNames by 12:30PM start 1:00PM
Sat 12/9/20Trial Mt GambierNames on sheet, venue Millicent, uniform, 1:00PM start
Sun 13/9/20Opening dayNames on sheet, Play 1:00PM. A/noon tea, uniforms
Fri 18/9/20Ladies pennant practice10:00AM start, names 9:30AM
Sat 19/9/20Men’s Hcap singles8:30AM start, names on sheet
Sun 20/9/20 Scudds/Earl Shield Open 1:00PM start. A/noon tea, names on sheet, uniforms
Fri 25/9/20 Ladies pennant practice 10:00AM start, names 9:30AM
Sat 26/9/20Open practice Names by 12:30PM start 1:00PM
Sun 27/9/20 LSEBA opening day no details yet
Wed 30/9/20 Ladies pennant practice 10:00AM start, names 9:30AM

Click here for latest Bowls Australia advice regarding Corona Virus

Bar Manager Arthur O’Connell on Thursday announced that the club now has 5 COVID Marshals and has asked all bowlers to please respect them if asked to distance or follow rules laid down. The marshals are, Arthur O’Connell, Eddie Hann, Sarah Ross, Glen Tilley and Denis Clifford